Horror Anthology / Matthew Cash

Sparks: An Electric Anthology

SPARKS: An Electric Anthology

Compiled and Edited by Matthew Cash & Em Dehaney

sparks.jpg

SHOCKING!

Synopsis

This is a public service announcement on behalf of Burdizzo Books.
Ghosts in the machine? Killer currents? Demonic disturbances?
Then you need Sparks!
Keep your family safe from bulbs and batteries that go bump in the night by reading Sparks. 15 electrifying tales of horror, sci-fi, bizarro and fantasy. Visit post-apocalyptic nightmare worlds, listen to recordings of the dead, feel the friction of electric lady love and be struck by lightning from the past.
Plug in, turn on, tune in and get buzzed.
Sparks – it’s alive!

Content Review

The SPARKS anthology from Burdizzo Books is a solid 8 on the creepy-factor scale, not for graphic content, but for horrific subtleties that will put your brain in a half-nelson.  By the end of the collection, I was exceptionally thankful for the lack of both attic and basement in my home, I vowed never to swim in exotic natural waters again, and I was slightly terrified of my phone.

Seriously, you will have to pardon me if I don’t answer my phone for a few days.  If you need to reach me, text or message me.  You can thank Betty Breen, author of “Off the Hook” for that inconvenience.  Nice work, Betty.  Way to freak a person out.

Seriously, this story was my favorite.  It was deep and sick and twisted and just horrifying.

Of course, the opener, “Electrophorus Electricus” was no gentle tale either.  The realism of this story is what got to me the most.  Too realistic for comfort.  Too shocking to forget.  A gruesome tale for certain.

But I digress.

The Sparks anthology has an electricity theme.  That much is obvious. It is a very creative undertaking with some amazingly disturbing results.  However, what the title and synopsis leaves out is the subtle underlying common theme of the fable.  Each of the stories has a cause and effect / action and repercussion element to it, an underlying lesson to be learned, moral to be realized.  Whether by design or happy accident, I found this common thread in each story to be very emotionally trying.  It made the stories more horrific, more effective, more lasting in my poor brain.  All of the writers have brought their A games on this one.  The result is a shocking collection of electric horror that makes me want to turn the lights off.  Turn all the electric things off. OFF

Get it on Amazon: US Link 

Get it on Amazon: UK Link

Get it on Amazon: AU Link

 

Leave a Reply

