Andrew Lennon / Horror Fiction / Short Story Collection

Ode to Death

By Andrew Lennon


A Brilliant Collection

Synopsis Blurb

From author Andrew Lennon comes a new collection of eighteen titles, including short stories, drabbles and poetry. This versatile collection will have you fearing those noises coming from the attic, questioning whether you should enter that haunted house at the fairground, thinking twice before you stay in a motel on a desert-stricken highway. It will touch you emotionally when you witness a person’s struggles, their discovery of new friends, how they can triumph and live to see another day, raising their heads to create their own Ode to Death.

My Ode to Death
House of Illusion
Ghost Story
No Sleep
Santa Claus Comes at Night
Dog Race
Trying to Write a Horror Story
Hide Behind a Smile
Visiting Time
Stress Blanket
Red Shoes
New Beginning
The Secret Life of my Imaginary Friend
One Night In Hotel

Content Review

Ode to Death is a brilliant collection of stories and poems by Andrew Lennon. It has magnificent old school cover art, a touching dedication, and is aptly titled.

I want to begin with the poetry. I found the poetry deep and moving. I am not judging it on its correctness of form, but if you want to, go right ahead. I am talking about the words, the messages, the meanings, the way they touched my soul. Of course, these are dark poems, but why would one expect any different in an ode to death?

The stories have Lennon’s signature expert characterization and building dread. The characters and suspense are very compelling. Even when the building dread makes you want to run from the story, you just have to know what happens to the characters. “The Secret Life of My Imaginary Friend” is a particularly haunting and ultimately shocking tale. I had to read it twice. It was that mind-blowing. The horror drabble “Lover” was also especially impactful, almost poetic in its delivery, gruesome in implication.

A few of these you may or may not have seen in anthologies. A couple of these are tributes to well-known works of King, but they are unique stories, wholly Lennon, even if another inspired them.

Andrew Lennon’s storytelling never fails to impress. If you are not familiar with his works, this is a great place to start. If you, like me, are fan of his work, this is a must have for your library.

Ode to Death is a shelf-worthy collection for your collection. Highly recommended for the horror connoisseur.

Get it on Amazon:
Ode To Death (US Link)
Ode To Death (UK Link)


About the Author: Andrew Lennon

Andrew Lennon is the bestselling author of Every Twisted Thought and several other horror/thriller books. He has featured in various bestselling anthologies, and is successfully becoming a recognised name in horror and thriller writing. Andrew is a happily married man living in the North West of England with his wife Hazel & their children.
Having always been a big horror fan, Andrew spent a lot of his time watching scary movies or playing scary games, but it wasn’t until his mid-twenties that he developed a taste for reading. His wife, also being a big horror fan, had a very large Stephen King collection which Andrew began to consume. Once hooked into reading horror, he started to discover new authors like Thomas Ligotti & Ryan C Thomas. It was while reading work from these authors that he decided to try writing something himself and there came the idea for “A Life to Waste”
He enjoys spending his time with his family and watching or reading new horror.

For more information please go to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s